Navigation
Licorice
Licorice - Punting Phone
Punting Phone
Gold Member
Posts to Date: 95
View Profile
Posted: 2019-09-22 08:31:03

So you think you cannot be found if you use a punting phone? Think again. I have been using a punting phone for about 4 years now. This week I received a call on my punting phone informing me that I had missed a payment on my clothing account. All particulars were correct. This number has never been disclosed to any of my contacts or referenced on any accounts other than ESA. It appears the fatal error in my covert operation was to top up airtime from my bank account using my blue tree banking app. Is somebody taking kickbacks for disclosing confidential customer info? I guess its time for a new Pakistani SIM this time being topped up using a voucher bought with non-sequential notes on the other side of town.
tony b bop
tony b bop - Re: Punting Phone
Re: Punting Phone
Basic Member
Posts to Date: 203
View Profile
Posted: 2019-09-22 09:13:40

"Is somebody taking kickbacks for disclosing confidential customer info? I guess its time for a new Pakistani SIM this time being topped up using a voucher bought with non-sequential notes on the other side of town."

Not to get too Edward Snowden about it but you would be amazed at the amount and quality of easily available information regarding telephone numbers that there is in SA.

For Example;

There are multiple credit bureaux in SA that all accumulate information.

So, when you have a fully RICA'd, one purchased from the Indian shop, one picked up off of the street or a friend / relative's number and you use it for any open credit account, it will quite often be associated with your credit profile.

If you purchase the phone off of Ibrahim in the Anywhere Mall and get him to put in a pre-RICA'd SIM you have a magnificent punting phone.